Extractor wobble

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wilco

Queen Bee
BeeKeeping Supporter
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
15-ish
Hi all,

I was given one of the Maisemore budget electric extractors last Autumn. It sat in the box until the weekend. I've fully assembled it today and am trialling extraction. Whilst I appreciate not having to turn a handle, it seems to wobble a lot to the point I don't feel happy to ramp up the speed so my extraction is rather slow.

I suspect it is slightly off centre straight from the factory as it wobbled even when unloaded. Loaded, despite being fairly well balanced, I can't turn it beyond about 45% power without it going walkies. However, I've little experience with operating electric extractors.

Those of you with electric extractors, do you find this is normal and would a triangular base with casters likely solve the issue?

Do you find your extractors also wobble when unloaded?

Mine doesn't wobble when not loaded. But I have it mounted on a board with castors for the wobble due to enevitable imbalance - this gets better as honey is extracted from the frames and imbalance reduces.

Mine doesn't wobble when not loaded. But I have it mounted on a board with castors for the wobble due to enevitable imbalance - this gets better as honey is extracted from the frames and imbalance reduces.
Which extractor do you have?

I came to post a similar question, as I used my electric extractor for the first time yesterday and it wanted to waltz around the kitchen.

I have the Lyson 20 frame radial extractor.

The most important thing in an electric radial twist puller is to balance the weight of the frames. This is achieved by classifying the boxes into three categories: full, medium and empty.