Crystalised heather honey

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Paddy_Power

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hi all,

I have a small amount of hetaher honey (7litres) that has crystised while I was waiting on a press to process it. Can I press it while it's crystallised or would I need to decrystalis it before pressing it. If so what's the best method to decrystalise without damaging the honey enzymes.

You mean it’s in the frames still?
No I decamped it and scraped it off the frames leaving the foundation on the frame. It's in a bucket but it has comb mixed through it so it needs to be pressed but it has crystallised in the bucket while I was waiting on a press

I’m no heather expert but I have melted crystallised Heather in jars by putting them in a warmer at 45 degrees for a day. Would that work? It might take longer than a day and you’d have to let it cool before pressing

No I decamped it and scraped it off the frames leaving the foundation on the frame. It's in a bucket but it has comb mixed through it so it needs to be pressed but it has crystallised in the bucket while I was waiting on a press
Ive just dealt with some heather honey with my wine press and cloth mesh bag to filter - I had "ok" results with the whole mass at about 30 degrees , but mine had not crystallised. I left it in the press overnight in my warm conservatory to allow it to drain as fully as possible. I tightened the screw a few turns every hour or two throughout the afternoon and evening, Ok for small scale and a couple of supers.

If it is truly crystalised would stick it in the warming cabinet at about 40C . Otherwise you may struggle to get the crystals through the filter bag. If it is just heather honey being heather honey and turns liquid when agitated you could give it a go as is.