Cheap security camera anyone?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Newbeeneil

Queen Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
40 plus 23 that I maintain for clients.
If any of you use an honesty box system and would like a little security, Blink are offering their battery powered wireless outdoor camera for less tha £50 this weekend. They also throw in another indoor camera.
It's not prossional quality but I have been using it for the last 4 years or so and recently had a group of kids disappear with a jar of my honey. A quick note to the village FB page with time and description had parents marching their progeny up my drive to apologise and pay reparations, so it works. 😀
Don't believe what they say about battery life as I only get 4-5 months from a set of £4 lithium batteries but I figure £1/month is not expensive.
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Blink-Outd...g=maas&goal=0_27eb97efd0-0e8a6fd9ad-319330061

I bough some dummy cameras and tarted them up a bit to make them look a bit more authentic. Some people mix with real cameras to cut down on the price.

Are there any fees invloved for receiving live footage or storage of footage ?
How does the sytem work Bluetooth /Wifi ?

Are there any fees invloved for receiving live footage or storage of footage ?
How does the sytem work Bluetooth /Wifi ?
It requires wifi but the exterior one is completely wire free and just needs to be screwed to a wall or post etc.
I have one that looks down on my shelves and acquired another which sits in the dummy WBC hive that advertises my honey for sale.
No fees involved.

You need a hub to connect to a storage device and obviously be in range of your WiFi.
I've looked in to it for the house but am currently setting up this one