Can I keep bees without taking the honey?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reub

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hi everyone,

I am new here. I have been offered a hive to keep at my allotment. Being a vegan I don't eat honey myself, but I definitely support the idea of increasing the bee population. They are so helpful at the allotments too. I have a large quiet area at the rear of my plot backed up against a tall hedgerow which is ideal. So, I was wondering, is it possible to keep a hive and let the bees do their own thing, and leave the honey in the hive to get them through the winter? Will they swarm and fly off in following year?

Sorry for the total newby question! I understand there is much more to keeping bees for me to research, but just wanted to find out in principle if its possible to leave the honey and keep the bees purely as pollinators.

Many thanks.

Reuben

Hi everyone,

I am new here. I have been offered a hive to keep at my allotment. Being a vegan I don't eat honey myself, but I definitely support the idea of increasing the bee population. They are so helpful at the allotments too. I have a large quiet area at the rear of my plot backed up against a tall hedgerow which is ideal. So, I was wondering, is it possible to keep a hive and let the bees do their own thing, and leave the honey in the hive to get them through the winter? Will they swarm and fly off in following year?

Sorry for the total newby question! I understand there is much more to keeping bees for me to research, but just wanted to find out in principle if its possible to leave the honey and keep the bees purely as pollinators.

Many thanks.

Reuben

Yes... Definately possible... Just don't use a queen excluder or go for a top bar hive.

Ben P