Bodge it and scarper Frame and Foundation

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sgeek

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
From my previous posts absolute noob :)

Did an inspection today and everything appears to be ticking along in a textbook manner apart from the bit of the textbook the bees have failed to read.
The ladies have managed to build a comb between
2 Hoffman Frames. It is only attached to 1 Frame. I am loathe to remove/destroy it as it is full of eggs and larvae

I recall a recent thread where someone added already made comb to a frame. I cannot for the life of me find it in search nor remember what the title of it was.

For some reason I remember comments about the bees chewing through rubber bands.

If anyone has a better memory than me and can point me in the right direction for the thread it would be appreciated.

Also, as this secondary comb is about half a frame big do you think the effort is worth it?

All answers greatfully received.:bigear:

For me the worth is lessened by the increasing number of frames filled.

If it were the only one, vital.

If one of three same.

If one of 10.. well now its not so important.

Hopefully that perspective will assist?

PH

The post was called cut out when a beekeeper removed a swarm and cut out the combs and attached them to the frames with elastic bands, this is done to give bees time to fix the combs to the frames and then they chew the bands and spit them out at the entrance.

For me the worth is lessened by the increasing number of frames filled.

If it were the only one, vital.

If one of three same.

If one of 10.. well now its not so important.

Hopefully that perspective will assist?

PH

Hoffman, then I hope it;s one of 11 plus a dummy board, come on keep up
:biggrinjester::biggrinjester::biggrinjester: