? Bees with nosema

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bushman1872

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Yesterday with the good weather I wandered up to see the girls all seemed to be out enjoying the sunshine so couldn't get too close but came back later with suit on to take a closer look. I had a bee from my weaker colony land on my hand and promtly poo all over it very liquid like. Now I'm a nurse and I know what poops should look like just not so good with bee poop. I also noted an amount of mould on the underside of the hive roof.

Now bearing in mind the colony seems to be struggling in numbers, that a bee pooped wet stool on my hand and the presence of mould which can't be great for their general health I wondered if you guys had any ideas?

Should it be nosema has anyone evr added fumadil to fondant before? I didn't really want to give them anything liquid as when the weather turns again they are going to have issues reducing syrup down in the cells.

Thanks all

if you feed syrup to treat you are expecting them to use it stat not store it.

what insulation have you had on the hive?

can you let us know a bit more detail, please?
hive type, open mesh or solid floor, colony strength before winter, any treatment given, insulation, type of bee, etc etc.

No one can tell whether Nosema without microscope analysis - it is not difficult and anyone with half a brain and a microscope can test for Nosema disease.

There's other explanations for upset constitutions, like spoiled food stores.