Are my bee's overheating?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

40-ODD

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi, I've got a hive set up in my garden. Woke up to a cloud of bee's swarming around. They grouped up on a near by tree. So I put them in a nuc box I had lying around. Had a quick glance inside my hive and it was almost empty (both supers empty and a pretty quiet brood box) so took it they had swarmed from there. Went for a cold shower as I was over heating in my suit lol. When I came back out they had left the nuc box but my hive was looking pretty busy at the entrance again, so had a look back in it - and it's full again (both supers have bee's and brood box is ramjam). What is going on here - I'm pretty new to this. Are they too hot or are they attempting to swarm? The hive is in full sun for most of the day. Gonna have a look through it and see if the original queen is in there when it cools a bit, just wondering if someone more experienced can shed some light on this. They looked busy and I took a split 2 weeks ago from it. Split is doing good. Cheers.

Do you have an open mesh floor?
Bees seem to have enough room but would they benefit from brood + 1/2 ?
If on solid floor ... remove any entrance block so they can ventilate efficiently....
It has been hot over the last few days.

Chons da

If the supers are full of bees, give them another one. What's your flow like? Mine are dropping nectar in any available cell at the moment.