adding supers

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stumorph

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
As a newbie I would like some feedback on when to add supers , Having only recently aquired my bees 2 weeks back I asked a fellow beekeeper who has been beekeeping for years 20+ to have a look at my bees, He said I had a good strong colony and I should put a super on . I commented to him that I only had foundation ( as a beginer with no drawn comb) and should I feed, he said there was ample stores for them.On my next inspection a wwek later I was suprised to find no bees or any activity in the super, still all busy in the brood box, am I just impatiant:cheers2:

Is the brood box on full drawn comb with bees on them all?
I think your mentor might just have decided that more room is better than an early swarm . As a general rule they will move up when ready. If you feel confident in spotting the queen you could remove the excluder for a couple of days to encourage them upwards and the replace it making SURE the queen is below it, there are other methods but your best and easiest route is ....patience!
E :)

On my next inspection a wwek later I was suprised to find no bees or any activity in the super, still all busy in the brood box, am I just impatiant:cheers2:

Yes, the hive is not ready to occupye the super.
And on these cold weathers the colony looses much heat to upstairs.
That is why it is good to add the new bow under the brood box.

.That happens often to mee too

IsI think your mentor might just have decided that more room is better than an early swarm ...patience!
E :)

It does no go that way. The colony may bee in serious trouples in these UK weathers.
It may loose some brood when hive is too cold. YOu may add allways under the brood.

Be patient does not help.