Thanks for having me - and my first question

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JohnJ

New Bee
Reaction score
Number of Hives
Two
Hi Everyone. Thanks for having me. I have been a low key hobby bee enthusiast on and off for some years. My home is in The Chilterns Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and I am blessed with an acre of garden which is surrounded by a mixture of farmland and natural landscape. However, as an electronics engineer I have been working full time for the past fifty years so have had little time to devote to bees. I only had one hive which naturally received scant attention. Notwithstanding that, I managed the odd year of good honey crop, but in many years I lost a colony over winter and had to start again. Now however I am finally retired from the rigours of ever changing technology, so I am starting to devote serious attention to my beekeeping hobby. I now have two National hives, both with flourishing colonies from Nucs acquired in the spring.

My first question is about the autumn removal of the QE and the subsequent replacement next spring. My biggest mistake causing winter loss in those past busy working years was failure to remove the QE over winter. Now I have learnt the lesson! I am not worried about removing the QE, but when should I? I am very worried about replacing it though. First when? But more importantly, how can I be sure that the Queen is down in the brood chamber? I am not very good at spotting her! Are there any signs that she is already in the brood chamber? Any guidance will be much appreciated.

Many would argue that a national brood box with plenty of stores should be enough to overwinter on, so one plan would be to remove the super(s) entirely and so not need a QE at all.