Plastic spacers/end

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ellem

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Other
Number of Hives
hopefully 1 :-S
Hi,

Complete newbie question warning here, before you read on ;)

I have seen the plastic spacers/end mentioned on here and for sale (as well as in use), I think they are to get the correct spacing if Manley frames are used (?). They seem to be sold in wide or narrow, but what does that actually mean in use? Are the narrow for use in the BB & wide in the supers?

Thanks in advance for your help not worthy

The narrows are for use in both the bb and supers:)
The wide ones are for supers only , initially narrow ones are used, once these have been drawn out , wide ones are then used . This reduces the number of frames required per super and improves the honey to wood/wax ratio :)
Manley frames as indeed hoffman require neither type as they are self spacing !

VM

The narrows are for use in both the bb and supers:)
The wide ones are for supers only , initially narrow ones are used, once these have been drawn out , wide ones are then used . This reduces the number of frames required per super and improves the honey to wood/wax ratio :)
Manley frames as indeed hoffman require neither type as they are self spacing !

VM

There is no need to use narrow in a super, wides when staggered give the same spacing as narrow spacers

see link to previous post and photos

http://www.beekeepingforum.co.uk/showthread.php?t=5601&highlight=staggered+spacers

manley dont need spacers, like hoffmans they are self spacing but manleys can be difficult to draw evenly and some of my bees make brace comb in them

( note the dummy is only for transporting not used in honey supers only when a super is used as brood ie on brood and half)

Last edited:
Thanks VM & MM. not worthy