Overwintering on double brood

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi, I’m in my third year and trying to learn as much as I can. I’ve heard folk on here generally talking about overwintering strong colonies on double brood. Obviously you can add a second box as they need it but if I’ve got this right is it specifically used as an overwintering technique. If so can you talk me through the timings theory, and what you do in spring, etc.

If they need double brood use it. You don't need to do anything else. Treat it like one box. If however you want to return to single brood the bottom box should be empty in early spring, if not, fiddling a few frames will give you empty frames in one box and just remove it. But why? If they need double brood then just leave it
E

If they need double brood use it. You don't need to do anything else. Treat it like one box. If however you want to return to single brood the bottom box should be empty in early spring, if not, fiddling a few frames will give you empty frames in one box and just remove it. But why? If they need double brood then just leave it
E

Hi - yes I appreciate all that. However I got the impression that some specially use another brood box to overwinter and I was interested in the timings, theory etc.

I just leave mine on double brood all year around. I have found that it aids in Spring build up as they are able to store more pollen during autumn.