Has my queen gone

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

billycasper

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
because of the howling wind and rain i haven't been to the hive for around 12 days or so as i thought it would be the wrong thing to do.
I went this morning and found the following:
1. lots of wasps (i must have killed more than 10, allthugh they seemed to disappear after i put hive back together)
2. very little new brood
3. no eggs that i could see.
4. all previous drone brood hatched but ne drones around.
5. looked for the queen but didn't see her
6. some of previous honey stores been used.
7. lots of bees around and a few still brining in pollen.
no signs of verroah at all (have't been any yet, even when lots f drone brood). I have had 1 play cup this year but no other queen cups.

It's my first year so any advice would be welcome.

because of the howling wind and rain i haven't been to the hive for around 12 days or so as i thought it would be the wrong thing to do.
I went this morning and found the following:
1. lots of wasps (i must have killed more than 10, allthugh they seemed to disappear after i put hive back together)
2. very little new brood
3. no eggs that i could see.
4. all previous drone brood hatched but ne drones around.
5. looked for the queen but didn't see her
6. some of previous honey stores been used.
7. lots of bees around and a few still brining in pollen.
no signs of verroah at all (have't been any yet, even when lots f drone brood). I have had 1 play cup this year but no other queen cups.

It's my first year so any advice would be welcome.

Cannot say for sure but:
1) There are lots of wasps now trying to rob hives. Unless you found many inside the hive then no need to worry
2) Queen will slow down naturally at this time of year
3) May have gone off lay what with bad weather and now Autumn