Advice on DN4 top bars

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi all

I have just placed an order for some DN4 frames, but the supplier has just been in touch to tell me that they are out of first quality T1 top bars, and have offered me seconds at 15% discount.

Altenatively I can have the wider T2's for the same price.

As a newbie I am now confused - can someone please let me know whether T1 or T2 tops are best, and whether seconds are good enough?

The supplier is National Bee Supplies, if that makes any difference

Help!

Andy

I only buy seconds, too expensive for me to buy 1st quality. Not had a problem so far with seconds. Sounds as though you are being offered DN5, same as DN4 except for the wider topbar? Should be OK, some beekeepers think they are better in terms of the bees not making so much brace comb between frames.

I only buy seconds, too expensive for me to buy 1st quality. Not had a problem so far with seconds

Same here

DN4, DN5, SN4 and SN5 have Hoffman side bars so are self spacing
DN2, DN5, SN2 and SN5 have slightly wider top bars

For me there's not enough gain in paying for 1st over 2nd quality frames

Hi all

I have just placed an order for some DN4 frames, but the supplier has just been in touch to tell me that they are out of first quality T1 top bars, and have offered me seconds at 15% discount.

Altenatively I can have the wider T2's for the same price.

As a newbie I am now confused - can someone please let me know whether T1 or T2 tops are best, and whether seconds are good enough?

The supplier is National Bee Supplies, if that makes any difference

Help!

Andy

"T1" & "T2" are their own codes, not (AFAIK) part of the standard coding.