volunteers to help with Honeybee Research

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi, As you all know I'm doing a Phd into "Differences in Heat Transfer between man-made and natural honey bee nests. " https://engineering.leeds.ac.uk/pgr/457/Derek_Mitchell

As part of my research I need to investigate the comb structure inside trees - so instead of cutting down trees I need help from beekeepers in the North Hampshire/ West Berkshire Area to put bees inside artificial tree nests that can be easily dismantled and the comb measured.

Here is the deal

I supply you, the volunteer, with an artificial tree nest to put in one of your apiaries, we run one of your swarms (shook or otherwise) into the nest.. The colony is not fed or treated (Trees don't lend themselves to that). After a year I come to extract the colony to put in one of your hives and measure the comb.
The artificial tree nests are about 1.7m tall and 300mm square, painted brown, so they will need guying and need room, so I will come with tent pegs,rope and cinder blocks to mount the artificial tree nest. Any honey or wax, along with the bees is yours. All I take away is the artificial trees, the cinder blocks, and some pictures.
For further details or clarification PM me or email me at my university address

Last edited:
Surely you should treat?
Leaving a fresh swarm with an unknown mite load - but it could be substantial - for a year amongst other colonies in the apiary is a potential problem.
Might not be an issue with a shook swarm, but I'd want to be sure they had a very low mite load to start with.

Surely you should treat?
Leaving a fresh swarm with an unknown mite load - but it could be substantial - for a year amongst other colonies in the apiary is a potential problem.