Which veg to plant now?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jimbeekeeper

Queen Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi all fellow green fingers.

I started my veg plot in late April this year and it has done well from set-aside rough land to cultivation , planting and harvesting in less than a season.

I now have my new shiny rotavator, and now most of my beds are harvested and soil dug, would can I plant now for either an early crop or what requires planting now?

My first plan is garlic

James,

and soil dug

Might take issue with that if it has been rotavated. More than a subtle difference in my book.

That aside, asparagus patch? lots of quick maturing salads? winter (shortening day)lettuce? winter onions? Peas and beans a bit later. Brassicas?

Some starter ideas. I'm not a prolific gardener by any means.

Regards, RAB

I know!

I volunteered to get the rotavator out to cultivate our new plot (0.2Ha), but the lady said "No". Digging gets rid of weeds. Rotavating can compound the problem. It would have - bindweed, couch grass etc. She does not like too many herbicides.

I intend to get my Plowmate to site and plough, disc, cultivate, harrow the available area ready for next season. A fair bit over half of it. Need to cut the rest down so either a chain saw outing (not favourite) or steadily cut them down with other kit. Mainly less than about 80mm but some quite well established 'brush'.

Regards, RAB

I actulay have found that all of the weeds get nicley tangled around the tines!

Which might sound a problem, but on my new machine, just tip it back pull the two pins out and off pop the tines and all the tangled weeds.

Weeding and "digging" in one opperation and no weed killer needed.

My soil is now light and fluffy...you could eat this on its own.