What to do with wax

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beesley121

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hi guys,

I have 7.5kgs if wax from my hives that has been cleaned up and solidified into one block. What’s my best option, should I sell it? Any idea what it’s worth? Or should I trade it in for wax foundation? I’ve never done this before but I’m in Cheshire so not sure if there’s somewhere near me that takes it in exchange

Whilst I’m here, I seen on ebay bs shallow wax foundation for £2.85 for 10 sheets, is it any good?

a number of the foundation suppliers will swap wax for finished foundation, so that might be of interest.
Otherwise there are often people in the market for wax, not sure of the value though.

Hi guys,

I have 7.5kgs if wax from my hives that has been cleaned up and solidified into one block. What’s my best option, should I sell it? Any idea what it’s worth? Or should I trade it in for wax foundation? I’ve never done this before but I’m in Cheshire so not sure if there’s somewhere near me that takes it in exchange

Whilst I’m here, I seen on ebay bs shallow wax foundation for £2.85 for 10 sheets, is it any good?

Thrones Masies etc have a weigh in for foundation or direct purchase at Spring Convention at Harper Adams... in the Car park so you do not even have to buy a rubber band... unless you want to see the exhibitors stands...

Be wary of cheap wax foundation.... buy from a reputable supplier who manufacture their own in the UK ( Nat B Supplies have a new unit... as do Ts and Ms....

I did buy some cheap foundation from E*****t... greasy, did not smell good.. from China I found out.. probably contaminated with microcrystalline wax and residues of chloramphenicol and the like... which worries me when I see all the fashonable beeswax wraps on sale... where is that " bees wax" from????

sorry :ot: