What to do with a swarmy colony

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TomH

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi all,

After a little advice please on the best way to requeen or proceed with a rather swarmy colony I acquired this year, and anything I should have done differently. I'm only in my second year of beekeeping so be gentle.

History is as follows:

19th April - Colony collected as a large swarm, a few miles from home. Hived in a rose hive.
27th April - around 8 - 10 frames drawn out.
13th May - second box added
31st May - Bees beginning to fill top box and drawn out frames
8th June - Swarmed. One open/emerged queen cell in bottom box and 4 capped which I tore down. As there was space in the upper box, I never checked below for queen cells, but lesson learnt.
18th June - Another 11 queen cells taken down. No eggs or larvae, so assumed virgin queen still to be mated/start laying. Around 6 full frames in the top box.
25th June - Hive swarmed again.
26th June - On inspection found two open queen cells but no more charged cells. One open on the bottom of the frame and one open on the face (picture below). Some capped brood, but no eggs or larvae seen.

IMG_1276.JPEG1624705371723.jpeg

I'm thinking I must have missed two of the cells on my previous inspection, giving them further chance to issue a cast swarm? Was I also too slow in giving them more space earlier on?

I would like to try and requeen them if possible. My other colonies have made a few play cups, but no queen cells, so i'm bit at a loss as to why this colony is so intent on swarming and i'm more just landlord than beekeeper!