what honey

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stephenpug

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
none at the moment but will be getting langstroth
I read on here about people taking 2/3 supers off for extraction, I have got six hives in my garden but no where near ready to take any honey
So the question is what are your bees filling the supers with e,g rape seed

I would think that you are probably right. The people with the bee hive equivalents of sky scrapers are probably on the rape. That said, before the bad weather set in mine were bringing in a lot of wild flower/willow nectar.

Being a noob, I would think that there are several things to consider:
1) The people who post will be those with the big yields. (Statisticians call this a 'self-selecting group.) Those with moderate or poor yields would not bother posting.

2) What is coming in will depend on the forage available and the number of bees in the area. Some areas can support 6 hives, others cannot.

3) Do you have any specific concerns about your particular bees? Failure to thrive due to disease, or do you think that the amount of nectar coming in reflects the condition in your area?

I only have questions. I am hoping that experience will give me answers.

Just had another thought. An experienced bee keeper was telling me (only last week) that some people take honey off too soon. Bad weather hits and the bees starve in the middle of summer.

I read on here about people taking 2/3 supers off for extraction, I have got six hives in my garden but no where near ready to take any honey
So the question is what are your bees filling the supers with e,g rape seed

I have taken off about 150lbs. It's predominantly rape but also cherry blossom, willow, dandelion mixed in.
Cazza