Weekly Inspections (Why?)

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Karsal

Field Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
3 Pay*es Poly Hives 7 Poly Nucs
I've been beekeeping for four years now and have always carried out weekly inspections. Over the past years and listening to a Master Beekeeper it takes a colony at least 24 hours to undo all the messing about inside the hive after we have finished.

Has anyone challenged this weekly routine inspection? and just piled on loads of supers on and waited until the end of the season to see whether the bees have just carried on regardless.

The old gentleman who has been my mentor is quite infirm now and only inspects his colonies infrequently. He still gets loads of honey and yes he does lose the odd swarm or two but his bees come to no harm.

I've been beekeeping for four years now and have always carried out weekly inspections. Over the past years and listening to a Master Beekeeper it takes a colony at least 24 hours to undo all the messing about inside the hive after we have finished.

Has anyone challenged this weekly routine inspection?

Humm, what evidence did he give for this 24 hours to undo? I would have to say this is very suspect. Bees just seem to get back onto what they were doing pretty quickly.
Weekly inspection are supposed timing of queen cell development so hopefully you can prevent swarming. This timing is also wrong as 5/6 days from egg "hatching" to queen cell sealing is enough to see a swarm leave.
You need to define loads of honey to know if it really is loads....