Wasp Out

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I'm new to beekeeping (so prone to overthinking it and buying all sorts of stuff) - but I've had a go at making a modified 'wasp out'. I've read that wasps are deterred by tunnels into the hive - so I've combined the two... I'll start by leaving the entrance slides open so the bees go straight in and out (and down the tunnel) - once they're used to the tunnel I'll close the slides and the bees go along the front. I've blocked the right hand passage - I'll probably find that the bees have no clue how to get in and out (no doubt the wasps can show them the way!) - It'll be a bit like an episode of 'The Crystal Maze' - who knows the bees might use trying to work out how to get in and out as a corporate team-bonding exercise, inadvertently making it a stronger colony. Mk II is going to have a combination lock with a number only the bees know!

Attachments

• IMG_1529.JPG
    IMG_1529.JPG
    1.4 MB · Views: 30
  • IMG_1531.JPG
    IMG_1531.JPG
    1.4 MB · Views: 34