Wasp Out

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FrithBees

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hi all, I'm new to beekeeping 1 hive plus swarm settling in! I've read a lot about robber bees and wasps being a nuisance and then saw the 'wasp out' product from Thorne and wondered whether anyone has experience of it / would commend it?

Do you have a wasp problem, Frith?

If so, reduce the hive entrance to a fraction more than one beespace (8mm) to perhaps 10mm, to enable the bees to defend easily.

One hard truth about beekeeping: suppliers stock any number of toys (many of which are unnecessary) and are eager to seduce you. Some say that the only way to make money in beekeeping is to sell bees and equipment, especially to new beekeepers.

If you want a tunnel entrance one can be made easily from pipe trunking; Millet wrote about his tunnel design here and plastic trunking is easily available (though the main shed suppliers seems to be out of stock) but even better, you may find some in a local skip.

Main policy with wasps: keep strong colonies (and strong nucs) and reduce entrances.

Hi, thankfully no problem as yet, just wondering about pre-empting hence the query, I have narrowed the entrance so will see how that goes.

The wasp out is basically just a piece of electrical trunking with some holes drilled in the front, put over the entrance, the wasps can 'see' the entrance through the holes but can't get in, and haven't the sense to go to the end of the trunking to get in.