Quantcast

Virgin media outage

Beekeeping Forum

Help Support Beekeeping Forum:

admin 

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
6,392
Reaction score
3
Location
Hampshire uk
Hive Type
national
Number of Hives
6
If you use Virgin media as your isp you may find you have/had a problem connecting to the forum over the past 24 hours.

The problem is between dns records of 123reg and Virgin servers so every domain name registered .co.uk with 123 is not resolving for around 6-12 hours.
If you use a proxy you will be able to see the forum server is up with zero downtime.

IN ENGLISH:

If your a virgin customer the forum is not broke,its Virgins fault and will fix itself over the next 24 hours.

Mark
Admin.
 

darrenperrett 

Field Bee
Joined
Jan 17, 2009
Messages
582
Reaction score
0
Location
Devon
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
10
I kept getting "problem loading page" for about an hour last night and I`m with BT.

Darren.
 

admin 

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
6,392
Reaction score
3
Location
Hampshire uk
Hive Type
national
Number of Hives
6
Virgin and bt wires sometimes share resorces,they hop on and off each others lines at different points.
Looks like the problem could also include BT lines as well :toetap05:
 

Brosville 

Queen Bee
Joined
Nov 29, 2008
Messages
3,132
Reaction score
0
Location
uk
Hive Type
tbh
Number of Hives
4
I'll pass the word onto a friend who's with the techies at Virgin, see what he can do - (a fellow top-bar hiver!):)
 

Black Comb 

Queen Bee
Joined
Aug 10, 2009
Messages
2,737
Reaction score
0
Location
Cumbria
Hive Type
other
Number of Hives
10+
Same here - on BT and couldn't access last night.
 

Hombre 

Queen Bee
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
2,818
Reaction score
1
Location
West Midlands
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
Ten
Hi all,
I'm a Virgin (the shirt) customer and experienced a consistent loss of connectability to the beekeepingforum. I have experienced it before, but this had been going on for more than 12 hours this time. I was thinking of sending an email to Admin, but then noticed the opt out for the Virgin Advanced Search Facility. A service that manifested itself some time ago. Elect to opt out via the box at the top right.

Try again and problem solved. I suspect that Virgin has out clevered itself at some point. DNS problems of one sort or the other have been a Virgin feature for several months now. I'm looking to point my connection at alternative DNServers rather than using Virgin's, which seem to be having too many blips of recent.

:)
.
 

steve1958 

Field Bee
Joined
Jul 13, 2009
Messages
838
Reaction score
21
Location
UK
Hive Type
langstroth
Number of Hives
3
All I know is it wasnt working.
Now it is.
It may not work tomorrow
So enjoy it whilst its here.
:)
 

VEG 

Queen Bee
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
6,830
Reaction score
0
Location
Maesteg South Wales
Hive Type
national
Number of Hives
15+-some
couldn't get access to here last night with sky, all other sites were ok though.
 

Onge 

Field Bee
Joined
May 24, 2009
Messages
839
Reaction score
0
Location
Cambridge
Hive Type
langstroth
Number of Hives
9 Medium Poly, mostly foundation-less. Some run as Warre TBH

admin 

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
6,392
Reaction score
3
Location
Hampshire uk
Hive Type
national
Number of Hives
6
It must of been only certain area's.
I know the forum was up because I could see it through a proxy server but could not login.
 

Mike a 

Drone Bee
Joined
Feb 13, 2010
Messages
1,789
Reaction score
0
Location
Hampshire
Hive Type
langstroth
Number of Hives
Between 17-20
It must of been only certain area's.
I know the forum was up because I could see it through a proxy server but could not login.
I'll have words with the network guys who run the show in your area. I used to work over there for 5 years until I got moved back to the Pompey franchise.
 

Latest posts

Top