Vicious bees

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Popparand

Field Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
One of my colonies was pretty aggressive last autumn and carried on trying to ding me for a while even after the hive was closed up. It was a swarm I collected on 20 May 2020 without any trouble and gave 28lb of honey in August. It overwintered with a super under the brood box and is still heavy. First inspection this year the bees "boiled" out of the hive (I now know what that means) and went for me like the proverbial. They are truly vicious! Both boxes were full of bees and the inspection board covered in cell cappings. On the plus side it is a strong colony and should yield a good crop this year. On the negative, they are borderline unmanageable. The options are:

1. Try to find the queen and kill her. I am not very good at finding queens and do not fancy spending an hour or more looking for this one, while under attack. Even then, if the workers rear a new queen from an emergency queen cell I may still have the same problem.
2. The super is now on top so they have plenty of space. Put up with them and hope they calm down when the weather warms up.
3. Strain the bees through a queen excluder on top of another colony (another swarm?) Bit tricky with brood and a half
4. Kill the lot with petrol. Not my preference
5. Con the bees with an artificial supersedure. Insert a queen cell from a calm colony, wrapped in foil with only the tip open. Does this work?

Any other ideas gratefully received!

1. Try to find the queen and kill her. I am not very good at finding queens and do not fancy spending an hour or more looking for this one, while under attack. Even then, if the workers rear a new queen from an emergency queen cell I may still have the same problem.