Varroa!

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

muelindustries

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi everyone!

I checked my hives today for the first time this year. It got quite warm in the sun so I thought I'd take advantage. The bees have been busy for about a week now, they're bringing in loads of pollen and are very active.
Now I'm still quite new to this, but definitely not a beginner.

The hive in question had plenty of brood in good patterns, honey and the bees seemed healthy. However I decided to remove some of the dirt and muck off the floor, thats when I noticed quite a large amount of dead varroa. So I double checked the brood and bees for any signs of live varroa but nothing!

oh also, some of the frames in the super had gone a little mouldy. Its quite a large hive, 2 brood boxes and one super, although they've now eaten all the honey from both, and only really using 1st brood box.

What do you think I should do? Should I treat them and what with, I don't want to ruin my honey crop.

Thank you in advance,
Samuel.

Well, on the understanding that quite a lot of dead varroa is good varroa, I'd be inclined to conduct a mite drop count to see how many live ones are in there. You don't treat dead varroa.

Oops - hi there - and welcome!

Last edited:
I order my varroa mite treatment from paynes beefarm. You get pollen points every time you order and you can use your polen points to get money off future orders :hurray:

I beekeep the organic way and find it puts a lot less stress on my bees. There are a few organic varroa treatments, that don't effect honey.

Bee Vital Hive Cleaner
Api Life Var
Thymol Crystals (used with a mite trap)