Uniting & Feeding for winter

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lead-Legs

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
Hi, I'm new to beekeeping and am after a bit of advice. I started with a nucleus in April and carried out an AS at the end of May. I didn't re-unite as I was hoping that they were going to build up enough, to take 2 colonies through the winter. I then had a problem with insecticide poisoning, confirmed by the SBI. So at the moment I have 2 14x12s with only 4 or 5 frames of bees in each and not much in the way of stores. I'm currently treating with ApiLife V. So what is the best way of uniting and feeding?

My plan would be to take of the varroa treatment, then unite with newspaper, then continue with a varroa treatment suitable for the lower temps. Remember to "prick" the news paper in a couple of places to give the bees a start.

Someone moaned that they had to use tape of some sort to join up the sheets but the purchase of a broad sheet paper will sort that out for you. I use two sheets not one BTW.

Your priority is to unite and worry about your varroa later, and on that line of thought have you a mite drop that justifies the treatment or are you doing it because everyone else seems to be?

PH

Thanks for that PH. Varroa drop was 75 in 7 days at end of July, put it into the Beebase V. Calc and it recommended treatment. How quickly will they unite, so that I can start to feed?

They are usually through the paper in a couple of days but leave them as a double brood box for a week, then shuffle the combs to best effect and reducing them to a single brood box and then feed.

Your varroa can be dealt with (and possibly more effectively) by an OA treatment in Jan.

PH

How far into varroa treatment are you and what was your treatment fall?