UK Buckast association-proposal

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rickvv

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
varies with the season
With all the publicity (good and bad!) surrounding Buckfast bees and the absence of an association in the UK, I would like to propose to start one, if there is sufficient interest.
I already have contact with the German and Dutch associations who are very keen to help us with material from which to breed and to help us in any way they can. Although Bro Adam started the ball rolling here, it is mainly in continental Europe where the subsequent pedigree developments have taken place. If anyone is fortunate to visit a continental Buckfast Apiary, it is immediately apparent that the colonies there have a different”quality” to anything I have seen in the UK (admittedly I am only a beginner and have limited experience) And by looking at the European Buckfast Websites it is clear that the interaction between the various breeders (most are amateurs) have caused/created many of the characteristics which are associated with Buckfast Bees.
My proposal for a UK Buckfast association is therefore as follows:
1 To promote a better understanding of Buckfast bees, characteristics, family tree origins, etc.
2 Organise monitored queen rearing events between members.
3 Promote and encourage a better understanding and cooperation with other European Buckfast organisations
4 Promote and coordinate instrumental insemination and/or natural managed mating on island (or isolated area) queen rearing program(s).
5 Compare queen performances between members, to ensure that continual improvement in the Buckfast bee is maintained