To keep the honey on the hives over winter or not?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blair

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I am now totaly confused about what to do with the honey that is in the supers on my 2 hives. One thought is to leave it on the hives to allow the bees to feed during the winter months, another is to remove them and feed the bees, and keep the honey to myself. What do you recomend? This is my first year and have 2 hives by the way.

Personally I would take it off and feed.

Then I don't know if you have the equipment to do that, is that why you are hesitating.

If you decide to leave it on remember to take the excluder off. Then of course you will be on brood and a half for next year :/

I would also advise you to remove the honey and treat for varroa.,and feed if needed.

Is this one full super per colony? Capped?

Entirely your choice, really.

Hedge your bets if possible.

Remove and replace with feed or perhaps remove some frames and replace with drawn comb if season is still progessing in a collecting mood (thinking here that you probably don't have any drawn frames?).

Remove some frames and feed.

Remove all and feed.

As to hedging your bets. If you have any drawn comb to put on now, you could store your harvest until you are sure the winter food has been accepted by the bees and fully converted to sugar-honey. You can easily mark those proper honey frames with a drawing pin or similar. Replace those stored frames, if plans go awry.

You certainly need to assess your varroah treatment, within this time-scale as well.

So, more than a couple of options and your final choice.

I am probably near to Hivemaker in thinking - take it off and treat. But it is the small print of the situation we have not read that may make your choice different.