To feed or not to feed - that is the question

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

John R

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
TBH
Number of Hives
Hello,

I'm new to beekeeping and the forum, I enjoy reading the threads it's really valuable to read what others are experiencing.
I have 1 colony in a brood box which I collected last Friday pm, I was advised to feed the 5 - 6 frames worth of bees with some Ambrosia I was kindly given with the bees, they have been having this for the last 3 days and the brood box is now two thirds full of bees, 11 frames total, I have added a queen excluder on the brood and put on a super with foundation frames. I have left the small remaining ambrosia in a second empty super box for them to have.
Do I need to continue to feed them or should I let them take from the store? It's got a bit cold and windy up here in Mid Wales, I don't want them to go hungry due to my lack of experience, nor do I want them to get sugared up? There seems a gap in flowers etc other than the ones in the garden and I am quite remote here
Also, should I put a 2nd brood box with a QE on it for the queen to lay in as well as the super.
I am a bit of a worrier, so any advice is appreciated, I've joined a society and am trying to pick things up quickly as poss'
Thanks for reading this

How many frames of brood (eggs, larvae and capped brood) do you have?
How many frames fo food do you have?

Busy Bee

Hi,

I can't establish this yet, as I was advised not to pull out the frames for 7 days to let them settle in, so it will be saturday before I do this, I've just seen that all bar 2 frames are drawn out and there are bees covering 65% of the frame tops