To exchange or leave them as they are?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sjt

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
5 at two out apiaries
I had been asked to check on a colony of bees in a national hive, the owner is a complete novice and there's quite a back story.

The hive and colony were set up in June and are doing ok, a bit short on stores but otherwise fine.

The problem is the brood box and supers have been made up totally wrong. The side bars are wrong way round and upside down so the top bar of the frames come above the top edge of the brood box.

As a temporary measure I've duct taped round the 1/4" gap between the top of the brood box and the cover board but really they need transferring into another brood box and the 'wrong' one taken apart and remade.

Do I do this in the next few days on a sunny, non windy day or leave them as they are until spring? If I damage the queen in the transfer that's goodbye to the colony. We are in sunny Sussex so the weather is not too bad as yet. (I may be needing the spare brood box come the spring!)

What's best to do?

I've been able to do the supers...with a little help from a friend.

The transfer to another brood chamber can be done in less than two minutes especially if you have a helper so I personally would just get on and do it. Bees and the brood are hardier than most people think.

Might just be me been pessimistic but is the floor ok and do you have a spare one of them?

Get on and do it before the cold weather sets in also feed them to get the stores up.

Just do it, the gap will cause more trouble and problems than swapping them over to a new box.

Yes I was intending to swap the floor as well so I could check it.