Quantcast

Timeout problems

Beekeeping Forum

Help Support Beekeeping Forum:

lceumt 

New Bee
Joined
May 20, 2011
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Location
Norfolk
Hive Type
national
Number of Hives
1
Hi,

I'm new to this forum only joining a couple of days ago. However I keep getting timeout problems and if this continues I'll not both anymore.

This has happened for the last 2 - 3 days, on different computers, with different browsers. This problem means that this forum is unusable for me.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Mick
 

Nellie 

Field Bee
Joined
Apr 28, 2009
Messages
627
Reaction score
0
Location
uk
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
3
There should be an option when you log in to "automatically log me in" or somesuch if you tick that you should be ok.
 

lceumt 

New Bee
Joined
May 20, 2011
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Location
Norfolk
Hive Type
national
Number of Hives
1
There is a "Remember me" check box but I can't find anything else. This makes no difference.

Thanks anyway.

Aaahhhhh!!!!!

Just had to "post" this 3 times!
 

admin 

Queen Bee
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
6,392
Reaction score
3
Location
Hampshire uk
Hive Type
national
Number of Hives
6
Are you with AOL or Yahoo by any chance?
 

lceumt 

New Bee
Joined
May 20, 2011
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Location
Norfolk
Hive Type
national
Number of Hives
1
Nope, not with either.

However I do have a further update which may mean this thread can be closed.

Just tried yet another PC and this one runs Linux. Been on the forum for 5 - 15 mins with no problems. So, it's either a problem with the other PC's (probably) or a problem with Windows (which I doubt). Anyway, I have a solution, which is great.

Thanks
 

JCD 

Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
81
Reaction score
0
Location
South Gloucestershire
Hive Type
national
Number of Hives
currently 5 hives & 3 nucs
I am unable to use this forum with AOL. It's fine with Internet Explorer. I find that I get timed out too, but not if I tick the remember me box every time I log on.
Hope that helps
 

lceumt 

New Bee
Joined
May 20, 2011
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Location
Norfolk
Hive Type
national
Number of Hives
1
Yep, clicked the Remember Me and tried Firefox, Chrome and IE.

Using a different PC seems to resolve the issue.
 

admin 

Queen Bee
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
6,392
Reaction score
3
Location
Hampshire uk
Hive Type
national
Number of Hives
6
The problem with AOL and Yahoo is they write their own browser software that requests a new cookie on every page load.

I know it sounds harsh but my advice is to change ISP..
14.5 million results for AOL cookie problems in Google.
 

nosmoking 

House Bee
Joined
Feb 4, 2011
Messages
295
Reaction score
0
Location
Southampton UK
Hive Type
national
Number of Hives
1 Arrived 30/04/2013
I had the same problem but ticking the 'remember me' tab worked
 

Latest posts

Top