Timber for hives

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi,

Having just read the thread on cedar hives and the relative merits I was wondering what other timbers people have experience of making Hives from.

I am a carpenter by trade and keen to make my own. Obviously they are predominantly made from Western red cedar or pine but I'm sure there are other timbers that could be used.

Anyone done any experimenting with this?

Thanks,

Rob

I have made nucs from pallet wood (free).
Works very well.
And it's free.

Has to be protected but as I use overlapping roofs, that is not really an issue. Butt joints, screws and PU glue.

Yes I saw a Bibba webinar where Karl Colyer talked about doing that. Currently all my pallets get used as pallets but it's a good source of free wood.

I guess protecting the timber is a big part of the equation whatever timber you use.

Pallets good for my open fire, good job I can get them for free when I need them.

No necessary when using cedar.

Yes I understand that durability is a major advantage of the cedar. Other timbers such as oak and sweet chestnut are also considered durable and are readily available, anyone used them?

Any timber will eventually degrade when exposed to the elements and that lifespan can normally be extended through treating the timber in some way. Obviously lots of timber treatments are unsuitable for bees and so not treating at all is a safe bet.

Are any timbers preferred or actively disliked by the bees?

protecting the timber is a big part of the equation whatever timber you use
Cedar needs no protection for it's entire life.