Thornes Sale Hoffman Frames

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ENZO

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi All,
I seem to have a problem with the Hoffman frames that I got in the Thornes sale (200 of them) and I am not sure if this is common or not hence the post as up until now I have always used DN1 frames/plastic spacers.

As I understand, you can use 11 hoffman frames and a dummy board in the National brood box as 12 frames is a tight fit, Well, when I assembled the frames I found that I could get 12 frames in the brood box and there was still a gap of about 11mm, enough for a dummy board, on inspection I measured the spacing and found the frames to be 34mm instead if the usual 35mm,

Can I get away with this? Or are the frames too close together?

I have little knowledge of Hoffman frames so any help would be much appreciated,

Many Thanks, Enzo

Last edited:
Hi Enzo

I happily use lot's of Thornes second(hoff) frames and you do normally get 12 in a Nat box. Go ahead you should not have any problems.

Regards Ian

Your experience is not unusual, I've had some from the year before last from Thornes that measured 33.5mm, and I recently opened up a pack of top bars that were like swiss cheese.

As for the side bars It could be that they have dried out a bit since they were cut, and at the sizes you've measured they will give around 1/8" less frame spacing than the normal plastic spacers. But my gut feeling is that I doubt it will affect the bees much, just make sure the foundation is dead flat and central. A bit of propolis and they will soon be back up to 35mm :)

did you get dn4 or dn5?? i can get 11 dn5 in a normal nat b box or you get 12 dn4 in a nat b box