Swarm or chill

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kevi

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I'm in my first year of beekeeping and I'm still quite confused about certain things:confused:. I know that you have to inspect hives at specified periods in order to prevent or reduce the possibility of swarming. Having inspected my hive last week and seeing all is well I intended to inspect the hive again today (8 days later). Unfortunately, the weather turned cold (below 13c) and it rained all day so I avoided opening up the hive. The weather forecast for the next few days is for more rain and even colder temperatures, which means the hive can only be opened (if I'm correct) at best, early next week when the weather improves. So what does one do in this situation? Is it a case of the lesser of two evils - risk swarming rather than risk chilling the colony?:banghead: I'm in the Merseyside area and have already heard of one hive that has swarmed.

Last edited:
Where about in Merseyside are you, are you in the the Liverpool or Ormskirk branch?. The forecast is for scattered showers tomorrow afternoon, improving as it goes on.
How old is the queen?. How many frames of brood where they on when you last looked in?, how much space did they have left and are they using the super/s yet?, and any evidence of queen cells or play cups last time you looked in?

If it was me I'd be down my apiaries thursday afternoon, unless the weather is dire if I really need to go through my colonies, I just get on with it....just expect them to not be at their friendliest ;)

Last edited:
I am surprised that any 'un-boosted' colonies that far north are swarming unless left with insufficient brood space, no super, an old queen, or they are a really very swarmy strain.