Super spacing

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jay60

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi
New beek...could anyone give me some advice on super spacing. I have just put a super on after hiving my nuc 4 weeks ago. I am using 3" vertical starter strips and was given some metal spacers, but they are the narrow ones which I guess will give 11 frames in a national super. I am looking to take off cut comb as this is my first year. Should I leave the narrow spacers on until they draw out the comb and then replace with wide ones to get nice fat combs? Do the wide metal spaces give 9 frame spacing? Should i have just put nine frame castellated runners on from the start?
Cheers for any advice

Nine frame castellated is to wide for foundation,ten frame works well,and will give you just about the right width of combs when sealed.

Are there spacers that give 10 frame spacing...I have plain runners on at the moment so spacers might be easier until I get another super box.

Are there spacers that give 10 frame spacing...I have plain runners on at the moment so spacers might be easier until I get another super box.

a super is 422 oe 424mm wide depending on whther imperial of metric wood is used

narrow spaces are 37mm so 11 spaced frame plus dummy
hoffman spaced 35mm frames so 12 fit ( very tight)

wide spacers eare 47mm so end on 9 fit (very tight) of 8 plus dummy

wide spacers staggered for drawing are 35mm so 12 or 11 plus dummy fit

see photos

Last edited:
and having know ust measured on Manley's appear to be 42mm, so i assume that is 10 frame per super spacing

does anyone use them? can the be extraxted in a tangental

Yes manley spacing,or castellated with ten. I use ten frames per super,but gave up on manleys years ago because of the way my bee's love to glue them solid with propolis.

Last edited: