still worried about the queens

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

northy1983

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
so, it been nearly a month since i split my original hive (hive 1), the old queen in hive 2 now, then unknowlingly i should of destroyed the remaining queen cells. As a newbee to beekeeping, im still learning. the result was hive 1 split itself again as there was still more than one queen cell in. The swarm went into a nearby tree and this was but in a new hive. (hive 3).

a couple weeks later i still couldnt see the new queens in hive 1 and 3, no eggs or capped brood. the advice i got given is to wait and be patient, now its been nearly a month and the situation is still the same, except its very obvious the numbers have dropped quite alot in 1 and 3.

there is a hell of alot of drones in hive 1 and 3, where the new queens should be, but virtually none in hive 2, where the old queen is. The behaviour in all 3 hive is good, they all seem calm and know what they are doing. There are foragers in hive 1 and 3, but the numbers have dropped alarmingly ive noticed.

i know the weather has started to become worse lately,which could delay any mating process( may explain the drones??) (if there are any queens in hives 1 and 3), but im worried about the numbers falling alot, and see that the only option im facing is to merge all three hives together and start from scratch again, before the season disappears. maybe give them 1 more week?

I need some advice if anyone can help out here??

cheers