Scum on top of honey.

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Liz123

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
This is my first year of actually getting some honey. The honey has been sat in a lidded bucket for 3 days ( I’m waiting for jars and labels) I see that is white scum on the top of it. what caused this? Can it be avoided next time? Please.

It’s difficult to avoid but that’s what a settling tank is for. Extract the honey into a bucket with a honey valve through your double sieve. Let it sit for a couple of days for the tiny bits of wax and air to rise to the top. Empty your honey into another honey bucket from which you can jar leaving the scum behind. If there isn’t much you can remove it with cling film. Lay a layer of cling film over the honey pressing it lightly down till all of it’s in contact. Pinch the middle and quickly remove. That will take most of it away

This is my first year of actually getting some honey. The honey has been sat in a lidded bucket for 3 days ( I’m waiting for jars and labels) I see that is white scum on the top of it. what caused this? Can it be avoided next time? Please.
If you jar it carefully the scum goes in the last two or three jars which I then use for cooking. There is nothing wrong with it. That is a part of honey extraction.

Thank for the help, I will have to do the cling film method this time as it’s in a bucket that doesn’t have a valve. Will get a bucket with a valve for next year.

Thank for the help, I will have to do the cling film method this time as it’s in a bucket that doesn’t have a valve. Will get a bucket with a valve for next year.