Removing Nadired super

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Curley

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
On Sunday I went to remove the super(shallow for RAB) I put under my colony at the end of last season. However I aborted the mission when I saw the bees were all over it - about an 8" circle across the top of the frames and down into the seams. I didn't start lifting frames to see if there was brood but shut up again to keep them warm.
The colony feels lighter than they did in autumn (to be expected) but as I am not very experienced at hefting I have put a small amount of fondant on which they have largely but not entirely ignored. Maybe taken a dessert spoonful in a week.

I guess I won't be able to tell for sure until I do an inspection when its warmer but as there is no QX on- is there a chance they have raised brood in there?
If so what are my options given this is a 10 frame super on castellations and the brood box is an 11 frame national.:thanks:

Probably just the cluster spreading out a bit in the warm weather. Plenty of time to take the shallow away - doubt there's much of a flow on yet if any.
Don't worry too much about the 10 frame/11 frame conflict - bees don't seem to have an issue (not in my experience anyway) wait until it's inspection time and if there is brood in there move the box up, find the queen and put her back in the brood box and put in a QX. I wouldn't do this until the colony has got well into the swing of things or you could end up splitting the brood as the brood in the BB could be just on the bottom of the frames whilst the brood in the super will then be separated.

Personally I think you'll find it was only bees in the shallow - didn't take out my nadirs until early May last year and they were fine