Queen introduction - excitement or aggression

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
The result of my queen rearing for this year is in this cage with attendants. Has been for 4 days since I killed the old queen in a mature colony, across 8/9 frames.

Is this bee-haviour aggression or excitement?

I tried to have a look 2 days earlier and they were mad as hell so I retreated.

I decided to be cautious and make up a nuc from the colony and introduce her into that first.

Thanks . . . . . Ben

Attachments

• dscf20200704-02-small.avi
    7.1 MB · Views: 221
Hard to tell from the vid - were they moving out of the way easily and not holding on to the cage with their mandibles? If they were, I take it as broadly favourable, but I would say that I'm very new to queen rearing!

You say was the cage plus attendants? I hope you removed the attendants before placing the cage on the top bars!!
If not this is aggression. They are trying to kill the attendants!!!

I have never removed attendants from an introduction cage and never had a problem. This seems to be another needless practice in beekeeping that continue to confuse the less experienced beeks!

I agree. If they are prepared to accept the queen they should be happy with the attendants. ?

Until I released her, the queen was in there for 6 days. Doesn't she need those attendants to feed her?

No, the colony will do that, even if they hate her. I don't remove attendants, I watched one lot walk onto the comb with the queen.

I have never removed attendants from an introduction cage and never had a problem. This seems to be another needless practice in beekeeping that continue to confuse the less experienced beeks!