Queen in super

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nick W

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
2 Hives
Hello

Im fairly new to Bee Keeping.

The Queen has managed to get into the super.

How do I know - I have been carrying out inspections of the brood chamber and noticed lots of brood at all stages. I never thought to to check the supers.

I had a super from this hive the end of last year which I had put on in Spring to feed them. I never took it off and I only ever checked a couple of frame of the super.

Anyway, today I was going to take the super off, put bee pollen on,treat with Apitraz.

I put clearer board on yesterday and today lots of bees still in super. So I went through the super frames and saw capped brood.

What do I do now? Do I just shake frames over the brood box and discard the super frames? I realise I wont be able to use them for honey in future.

Im just a little stuck as to what to do next.

Before you ask, yes I did have a Queen Excluder but must have got through or it wasn't secure.

Hello

Im fairly new to Bee Keeping.

The Queen has managed to get into the super.

How do I know - I have been carrying out inspections of the brood chamber and noticed lots of brood at all stages. I never thought to to check the supers.

I had a super from this hive the end of last year which I had put on in Spring to feed them. I never took it off and I only ever checked a couple of frame of the super.

Anyway, today I was going to take the super off, put bee pollen on,treat with Apitraz.

I put clearer board on yesterday and today lots of bees still in super. So I went through the super frames and saw capped brood.

What do I do now? Do I just shake frames over the brood box and discard the super frames? I realise I wont be able to use them for honey in future.