Poly Hive's?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

herefordshirehoney

Field Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Langstroth
Number of Hives
3 poly langstroths
Hi,

Been following the threads about poly hives for a while and can see their advantages.

Im new to beekeeping and havent got bees yet and am seriously thinking 14x12 cedar is the route, however recently it's got me thinking poly might be the better choice for the bees.....

The problem with going this route is the common sites like MB don't do 14x12's so from what im looking at would probably be MB Langstroth. This puts a few questions in my mind. 1) What one's to go for as langstroth has so many options and is it the best choice for poly 2) I'm probably making extraction harder as borrowing a extractor from the HBKA problem will be geared for nationals.

The other issue i'll have is I was going to get a NUC again they come in national frame sizes usually (i think MB do converstion kits though).

From what i've read the poly's can last as long but as they are cheaper i can afford to have more spares lying about too so it has it's advantages.

Any comments? Got a feeling this one will be an interesting one :)

Thanks,
Chris

Poly Hive's what?

Chris - are you a greengrocer by any chance?

seriously - rab (o2o) and mons ab are your men. MB jumbo LS simply converted to 14x12.

Last edited:
And I suppose I have no input Dr? LOL

If you want to go the poly Langstroth route you have all winter to sus out who offers the best deal. There are vendors all over Europe who sell them including Poland.

Langstroth nucs are available though no where near as common as nats. Which is why I keep a few....

PH

Last edited: