Please Help if you can?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sarah

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Langstroth
Number of Hives
Hi folks I'm a beginner at this - both beekeeping & forums so sorry if I cock it up(can I say that?:boxing_smiley:)

I bought a nuc in May from a fellow member of L&DBK of not - I found out later - crystal clear reputation when it comes to the breeding & sale of bees:( We built a Langstroth but the nuc came on national frames, could not be cut down & so we had to borrow a brood box from the breeder (I would not have minded so much if I'd had a blowtorch to scorch it first!!

I fed them for a week as the weather was good they went on to forage and grew in numbers as expected. The Queen was supposed to be 5 - 6 wks old at time of delivery.

About 4 wks ago I had a gut feeling that something was wrong - couldn't find the Queen (put it down to the workers covering her as now so many) but everthing else seemed in good order - the usual checks for plenty of food,space etc. I was determined to find the Queen on the next check!

The weather changed to wet so I fed the bees syrup but could not check again until 6 days ago. I looked in and found dead brood at the emerging stages and the number of bees in general had dropped dramatically:confused: I called out the member that I bought the nuc from to come & check the hive - gut instinct told me something was very wrong indeed. Following inspection his prognosis was that they had re-queened - why? She was viableand laying well. And that I had to wait 5 days and check for capped worker brood - The 5th day was yesterday.