Plastic Feeders

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

masterBK

Queen Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
wintering 23
A couple of our members asked me at our January meeting yesterday if the so called "English Feeders" being sold by T in their winter sale were worth getting . They are 12 for £80 in their sale which seems cheap. I have no experience of using these plastic rapid feeders so would be glad of any valuable feedback from people who have used them which I can then pass on.

I use 2 gallon wooden Miller feeders that I have been using for over 30 years (and which need regular waterproofing to stop them leaking ) along with 15 litre plastic buckets with lids that I converted into contact feeders by burning small holes in the lids.

I know that a lot on here have disagreed in the past but, I have found that T's drop in feeders are very good, since they were modified. You need an eke for them. Only about £3.50 in the sale, however when I tried to buy 3, 3 hours after the sale had started, they were out of stock.

My feelings are that they may be OK as long as one doesn't need to remove them while still substantially full.

Half full Ashforths (home made) are bad enough in this respect.

I certainly cannot see them lasting thirty years. My timber feeders were painted inside with flexible ceiling paint and are still good after ten years (although they have not been used in anger for at least five years).

These may need some 'roughening up' to provide a grippy surface (like a lot of plastic entry feeders), but as I have no personal wish to own even one I will leave it to others, who may have tried them or similar, to comment further.