Plan of action if/when catch a swarm

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Do224

Field Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
As some of you may have noticed from other threads, I’m just a bit excited about the possibility of catching a swarm in my bait hive in the coming days....

I’m a complete beginner though and would really appreciate some advice on what to do if and when the swarm arrives. Here’s my plan at the moment...

1. The bait hive is in my garden but the farm where I’ll be keeping my bees is approx 2 miles away. I plan to move the swarm trap up to the farm very early on the morning after the swarm arrives.

2. The bait hive is made up of one old brood frame and 9 other frames that have a 1 inch starter strip of foundation at the top. I plan to open the bait hive up when I get it to the farm and transfer the one old brood frame into a National brood box with OMF and varroa board. I’ll remove all the frames with starter strips from the bait hive and shake any bees off them into the new hive and then tip the remainder of the bees from the swarm trap into the hive. I’ll then add full frames of new foundation to the hive and put a queen excluder and crown board on.

3. Do I stuff grass into the entrance of the new hive and let the bees chew it out?

4. Do I feed with syrup? If so how much and what ratio?

5. Close up the hive and leave for how long before going back in?

Thanks for any help, I really appreciate it. Please let me know if any of the above is the wrong thing to do.

We tend to leave the swarm in the bait hive until the evening and move then.
They should then settle down and be active again the following morning.
If the bees are on suitable frames already, I'd be tempted to transfer them into the hive, but shaking them should be fine as long as you have the queen in there.