paint\stain\varnish whatever

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

peteinwilts

Drone Bee
Beekeeping Sponsor
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Lots and lots
Hi Guys

I am sure this has been asked a million times, so I apologise for the question.

I am building a couple of hives and it is getting to the stage to protect the wood.
I am only using pine as this is my first time.

What products are safe for bees for protecting the inside and outside of the hive?

Cheers
Pete

I used cuprinol wood preserver 2 coats (outside only). Then 2 coats cuprinol ducks back (outside only)

a darker colours for hive the norm? I have just been looking at the colour range and they all seem quite drab.

... which is fine if what the bees prefer!

We use Cuprinol Clear, which is safe for bees. Whatever you decide on, check the safety data sheet. Anything marked "R57" is toxic to bees and should be avoided.

Cuprinol Garden Shades is safe if you want to colour your hives, but it's not a wood preserver, so you'll need something else as well to preserve the wood from rot.

you are asking to do two differant things
to preserve the timber buy cuprinol clear wood preserver there are two,
one will stop wet rot which is water damage the other will protect from dry rot which needs wet timber to start with and the other has a mixture of wet and dry rot and insecticde slap this all over the inside and out if you want to do both or outside only a couple of coats will do,

now we are rot proof we can deal with colours and treatments
what do you want it to look like
if you want paint use any out door type sadolin have a white stain/finish which looks like paint but without the agro of multi coats
creasote worked for hundreds of years preserving timber ask a telegraph pole or a rail way sleeper if you dont belive me!