Oxalic Vaporization 500 mites to zero

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

john t

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
This is an account of my first attempt at vaporisation with oxalic acid crystals ,
i had been keeping bees for many years but had a break for about 10 ,before I took my break varroa hadn’t been around that long and I had only treated colony’s with bayvrol strips so vaporisation is completely new to me,
back in October I was given a weak colony of bees which I suspected were heavily infected with the varroa mite, I realised my main focus was to get them through the winter so I initially gave them some sugar syrup and then a block of candy which is sitting on the top to the queen excluder and covered over with a quilt inside an empty super,so just an occasional check to make sure they have enough stores is all the disturbance they will get until spring,
The varroa treatment:- the hive has an open mesh floor with a removable pull out board which will catch the dead fallen mites, I do not grease the board in any way, all I do is remove this board and scrape what is laying on it into a container, I then add a tiny quantity maybe a tablespoon of 90% alcohol just enough to separate the debris , I then count the mites and record my findings.
My plan was to count the fallen mites every day that I could, work permitting, I started counting before I did the first vaporisation so that I could get an understanding to how big the infestation was and if the vaporisation was having any effect and was recording 80 to 40 mites per day.