Oxalic Treatment

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

curry756

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
Hello,

I am new to beekeeping and these are my first hives. I acquired these hives in October from a farmer as the bee keeper had passed this summer. They are both nationals and are both rather busy colonies. I can only assume that they haven't been treated Varroa treated, so I am looking to treat with oxalic solution this winter. My understanding is that I should drip 5ml onto each seam a few weeks after the first heavy frost. This hasn't happened in my area yet and my bees are far from clustering. Its currently 9.5C and very sunny outside and my hives are very busy - at least 10-20 bees visible at the entrance at any moment. I live in the London Borough of Bexley (SE inside M25)

I am only curious as I can see people on here treating already? I know the weather differs as you travel through the country, but its still a reasonable mild winter so far?

Any suggestions or tips greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Paul

Firstly you need to assess the hive to see whether you have a varroa problem. All hives have some but bees will cope with minimal without treatment in winter.
Put a tray under the hive and check for varroa after 4 days. If dropping average of more than 4 a day then consider a treatment.
If weather mild, then she may still be laying. wait till January, we are in for a cold spell. 3 weeks after cold time then trickle 5 mls of OA over every full seam of bees, reducing to 3/4 mls if less in a seam.
You do what suits your conditions, those 'oop north' are colder than us...and the Scots.. tartan draws coming out..

I would be inclined to treat them anyway.

It hasn't got cold here either yet, but I shall be dribbling oxalic in the first or second week of Jan.