Old deserted hive with new swarm

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Twistytrees

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hallo everyone I’m completely new to beekeeping. My husband dabbled but wasps invaded both hives and that was the end of that. Anyway one hive was still in the garden looking pretty but with no residents until last week when I saw a random swarm of honey bees moving in. They’re still there so I thought I’d learn to look after it.
ok so we’ve had a look inside please bare in mind I’m a complete and utter novice but very keen to learn.

The hive has three boxes and is a National.

We took the top box off there’s a few bees in the old comb but not many. So we have taken that one off and left it for the moment beside the hive.

The super underneath has still got a old comb, dead desiccated wasps etc in it and quite a lot of honeybees.

looked under the queen excluder and it’s very busy in there.

We have put it back together and left the top super on the ground in front of the hive. We have also put bricks onto the roof to press the queen excluder and the top floor/board thingy down as they had twisted a little bit when they were removed.

Is it right leaving the super in front of the hive to allow bees to return or should I remove it I don’t want it to attract wasps.

So what next? Should I be doing anything to the other layer above the Queen excluder? Do they need feeding any advice at all will be very much appreciated.