Newbie with a swarm of someone wants it......

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OhBeehave

New Bee
Reaction score
Number of Hives
Hi, I’m an absolute newbie!! Anyway, we got our hive set up in April with a nucleus and I have just come home and found that they have swarmed! Due to my lack of experience I have not got round to purchasing a second brood box or hive for such an event as I thought I had plenty of time starting with a new queen and nucleus🤦🏻
So if anyone wants them we are between Ashford and Canterbury in Kent. Postcode is TN25 6BJ.
They are currently in a tree approx 7 foot off the ground near the hive and easy to get to.

Hi, I’m an absolute newbie!! Anyway, we got our hive set up in April with a nucleus and I have just come home and found that they have swarmed! Due to my lack of experience I have not got round to purchasing a second brood box or hive for such an event as I thought I had plenty of time starting with a new queen and nucleus🤦🏻
So if anyone wants them we are between Ashford and Canterbury in Kent. Postcode is TN25 6BJ.
They are currently in a tree approx 7 foot off the ground near the hive and easy to get to.
Back to your surviving hive.
Look inside tomorrow and choose a queen cell that is open with a pool of white royal jelly there and a fat larva. Mark the frame. Check there are no more queen cells on it. Brush the bees off to look. Shake the bees off the rest of the frames to find and remove every other queen cell you find.
Look in again in a week to remove any other queen cells they make.
If you don’t do this you will get more swarms.
How often have you been looking in?

Hi, thanks for your reply! I last looked in 3 weeks ago and didn’t notice anything but I wasn’t looking for queen cells...
There still seems to be loads of activity at the hive entrance with bees coming and going.