New to commercial beekeeping

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MikeN

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hi,

I have access to a piece of land, in the Midlands that I am thinking of developing into commercial Apiary. So as I am new to this I was wondering if anyone can answer some of my questions (I only have been keeping bees in the past as a hobby):

-Is there a general acreage to number of hives ratio. I was looking to have something like over 50 hives over time. Can they be all together or do they need to be separated. Also is there a distance they need to be from building and homes.

2- how many working person needs to look after 50 hives.

3 - how frequently do they needed to be visited.

4- do they need to be kept in doors in winter ( from my beekeeping experience I have always kept the hives outside, but I just wanted to check if its same for commercial ventures)

5 - how many centrifuges and extractors do you think I need for 50 hives. Also what do they costs usually? Are these very power hungry in terms of electricity. If so what kind of power requirement I will need. How long will take to extract the honey from 50 hives or more.

6- Do I needs to build a number of buildings/barns to hold the centrifuges and other equipment, do you have any ideas on the size and number.

5- how much honey does a typical commercial hive produce (From my beekeeping experience as a hobby my hive produces like 30-40 pounds, is this same yield for commercial hives).

6 - what is involved in the day to day bee keeping (i.e how is it different from just keeping bees as a hobby)

7- Do I need to plant flowers nearby.