New recruit from South Africa

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Michael ECB's

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Langstroth
Number of Hives
Not Enough yet.
Hello all, Michael here from a sunny but cold Eastern Cape – South Africa. And unfortunately no, I more than likely do not know a chap by the name of Roger living in Kenya or Tanzania... Even though he is 6,4, has a big beard and talks kinda funny...?? Sorry....

I'm fairly new to this Bee Keeping thing but having a lot of fun. Also blessed to have an excellent mentor that has been involved with Bee's since just after the Arc beached on that big mountain up north. Building “some” of my own equipment (Yes! Very mindful of bee spacing!) built my own bee vac that is most definitely the best thing since sliced bread...

Dont like long walks on the beach, Blondes are Ok though, cant stand love stories or dragged out dramas on Tv, I believe health food truly makes me ill, much prefer undercooked red meat with Beer or Brandy & Coke.
Star sign – whichever one reads youre going to have a wickedly awesome week...
Very happily married with two awesome “young adult” kids, live on a farm with a couple of dogs, one being a very moody “Rottwieler” that looks after our security concerns - our “ Armed to the teeth” German response team.

Other than that – really looking forward to seeing how the other half do things. I'm always keen on learning, adapting and trying new things... Not doing this for the Honey or the Money – Just having fun and increasing bee numbers locally..
But hey, if it turns a profit in years to come, I'm good with that and will learn to live with it..